Colin Stüssi still top before Glockner stage – 14th place on third Tour of Austria stage in St. Johann Alpendorf!

Colin Stüssi still top – 14th place on the third Tour of Austria stage in St. Johann Alpendorf

From Schladming to St. Johann Alpendorf over 153 kilometers and almost 2800 vertical meters. These are the ingredients of the third stage of the Tour of Austria. After the start up to Ramsau, the home of Moran Vermeulen, there were fireworks from the pros. In the middle of it all is Team Vorarlberg, driven by their teammate’s fan club.

Material problems only cost a few seconds in the overall standings

As a result, seven top riders pulled away, who were then caught again in the exciting finale. Team UAE Emirates did everything in its power to win the stage. This was completed by Diego Ulissi (ITA) in the demanding uphill sprint. He wins ahead of Magnus Sheffield (GBR / INEOS Grenadiers). Ulissi also takes the red jersey of the overall best.

Colin Stüssi is delivered perfectly by Jannis Peter and crosses the finish line in 14th place, eleven seconds behind. This performance is all the more impressive as he had to battle with material problems throughout the final. So all eyes will be on tomorrow. Jannis Peter turns 28 today and the World Tour teams didn’t miss a beat today either. Nevertheless, Team Vorarlberg can be happy with how the tour has gone so far.

Grossglockner stage will be the deciding factor for Tour victory!

From St. Johann Alpendorf over the Grossglockner up to the mountaineering village of Kals in East Tyrol. This mammoth task awaits the pros tomorrow. 151 kilometers and 3660 vertical meters – a real royal stage. And the Glockner King is also honored. GO, GO, boys!


Info Tour of Austria

Stages 73rd Tour of Austria:

02.07. Prologue St. Pölten (3 km)

03.07. Bad Tatzmannsdorf – Bad Tatzmannsdorf (177.9 km)

04.07. Maria Taferl – Steyr (184.5 km)

05.07. Schladming – St. Johann / Alpendorf (153.1 km)

06.07. St. Johann / Alpendorf – Kals (151.7 km)

07.07. Kufstein – Kühtai (143.8 km)

Line-up Team Vorarlberg: Moran Vermeulen, Dominik Amann, Colin Stüssi, Jannis Peter, Lukas Meiler, Alexander Konychev, Lukas Rüegg;

Press Service Team Vorarlberg